Carvings

The black petals
On my backbone
Fluttering mysteries
Like stupefied
Vintage buildings
Resemble your devouring thoughts,
That cling to
My mouth
My backbone
My forehead
My cheekbones and
My heart
In a insepid mundane pattern
Of a dead leaf.

Published by

my valiant soul

A dreamer and a believer for the upliftment of women rights. A published poet, author, writer. Believes in dancing and cooking amazing food for hungry souls at times. Loves to write and write till the moon is satisfied. My writings can be found at Visual Verse, Indian Periodical, Sick Lit mag, Duane's Poetree, Thistle magazine, among various others. Curator of Olive Skins.

25 thoughts on “Carvings”

  1. Oh, wow, this is intense. Dark in its imagery but so well-written. The comparison of the body to that of a leaf is so vivid and the image you selected to accompany your piece is so apt. Thoughts of another can consume us whole until we dry up to become that dead leaf. I connect with this so well. Great wiring, MVS!

    Liked by 2 people

      1. You are most welcome. I love the complexities in your simple words and you write dark so well that I cannot help but be drawn to it. Always, my new friend!… Alex 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment