a forgotten memory

I am a forgotten memory
with a quiet mouth of a clock( a chain that clogs my neck)
a forgotten yellow tainted page, blank as an ocean.
These people i see, i smile at my own hands,
my own chin, my deep purple intense eye(i know it has an intense shape of a flower)
softly listening all songs
swallowing the delusional veins and freckles of my hands,
i know i am a memory.

forgotten like vintage telephones, crooked voices
90’s soft love collecting silver dust from mouth to mouth,
movement of the breeze, a song of nostalgia.
Sepia. Broken pencils. Vintage poetry.
forgotten like that.

,©Image an Words MVS

Published by

my valiant soul

A dreamer and a believer for the upliftment of women rights. A published poet, author, writer. Believes in dancing and cooking amazing food for hungry souls at times. Loves to write and write till the moon is satisfied. My writings can be found at Visual Verse, Indian Periodical, Sick Lit mag, Duane's Poetree, Thistle magazine, among various others. Curator of Olive Skins.

84 thoughts on “a forgotten memory”

  1. It’s magical, what you do with words, Devika. I love the following lines:
    “i know i am a memory.
    forgotten like vintage telephones, crooked voices
    90’s soft love collecting silver dust from mouth to mouth,
    movement of the breeze, a song of nostalgia.
    Sepia. Broken pencils. Vintage poetry.
    forgotten like that.”

    Liked by 2 people

  2. This poem had a melancholy almost dreamy mood. Somber and very different from your usual write. Broken pencils, nostalgic songs, and vintage phones may all be forgotten. Only a damn fool would forget this heart felt poetry or a muse like you.
    MVS, like a beautiful sunset; you never disappoint.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Your words are too beautiful and carry that deep pain, which can not be forgotten soon I guess. Your verses are that sepia stain in my aberrant thoughts. Time scrubs it gently but here you are, stuck to me like a reminder of the pain.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Wishing u An abundance of goodness in life, Richness of soul, peace in the Mind, Happiness in ur heart, joy & laughter on ur face & may it all reflect in the sparkle of ur eyes.
    May my Lord Krishna removes all obstacles & showers u wd bounties, benign, blessings. May happiness & peace surround wd ur eternal love & strength.
    Wishing you a very happy janmashtmi. Always stay safe, happy and secure 😊☺

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment