A faded star

 

Image result for illustrations

Ventilation bursts my shout outside the hole

the frontal lobe of pain puts the pain on

the clamour  my dark pink lipstick

the soil declining to wake me up

Tug of war.

A lie in my pharynx.

the knuckles of my hand

like the cover of a coconut from my backyard

Hard yet soft

Veracity lies in the mouth of wise old man

I hear, the squawk, tearing off the beetle leaf

in the innermost layer of my earlobe

the faint smell of roses striking  off

the underlying scintillating pieces of star

Explosions I hear,

Darkening the repetitions, sketching my  faded outline

with the black soil, no fertility I apprehend.

 



 

41 thoughts on “A faded star

  1. This…
    Everything about these lines are stellar:
    “A lie in my pharynx. the knuckles of my hand like the cover of a coconut from my backyard Hard yet soft”
    Simply stellar.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Hi there,
    Welcome to the blogging world. I’m really enjoying reading your poems. They are beautifully written and very emotive. They conjure up a lot of imagery. I have not written poetry in many years but it is something I would like to explore again further. I will hopefully be taking a creative writing course in the near future.
    I am also a new blogger (just completed my about page) and my blog will mostly be about areas of my life that I would like to improve on. I’m certain that creative pursuits will be in there somewhere! Good luck with your blog.
    https://tallulahbellesite.wordpress.com
    Tallulah
    X

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thankyou for your kind gesture!
      I am technically not new to blogging world, infact had my one year anniversary recently but got my blog deleted so this is a new start.
      I adore you dropping a glance on my posts.
      Looking forward for your writing!

      Liked by 2 people

  3. The key line that may be easily overlooked in this poem is:
    โ€œTug of warโ€
    Itโ€™s so simple it stands out.
    The imagery is strong once again, but I think one has to read the โ€œfeelโ€ of the poem as
    they will not know the meaning of all images. With the title โ€œA Faded Starโ€, and the final
    line: โ€œwith the black soil, no fertility I apprehend.โ€ The feel of the poem with โ€œTug of warโ€
    is the person is going through a bit of an internal discussion, with some conclusions to that being a bit painful.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think the title says that a star is supposed to be shining indeed it’s faded which brings us to the last line highlighting the poem’s title.
      Nothing here is positive.
      “Tug of war”
      This depicts the sad imagery of one’s mind.And so does”black soil”.
      Yes this is a painful expression as you said Forrest and you absorbed it flawlessy once again!

      Liked by 2 people

  4. What I meant was… I think you are placing the pieces of the puzzle just fine.
    It’s up to the reader to do the assembly. You don’t need to learn or change a thing.
    You should just keep doing what you’re doing…it’s working well.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. As I read I thought ‘super nova’ and ‘black hole’. The depth of sensory stimulation in your piece is inspiring and so many great lines in your work highlighting beautiful figurative language. Sometimes we are all like fading stars, dimming quietly after that explosion when our bits are scattered across the universe. I love this!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

