Inside Ghosts

Scratch my wounds

In avarice for further scratch

Burst the love seeds, only to discover

Another white layer of ghosts

The area of demure light-house 

swallowing the intransigent reflection 

on the seashore, killing molluscs

Spraying dark colour on golden fish

Peeling the outer space

Like a cold Potato.

Burn my ashes in my mouth

Discovered the inside ghost?

So carry that pointy dagger on my inept

Backbone, spill the blood

Spill on the modish pink cheeks

Turn me inside out

Do you now see? The inside ghost.

40 thoughts on “Inside Ghosts

  1. The visual images you create in this poem are quite strong. They are particularly striking because they do not all neatly fit together, but create a variation in imagery that require each one to be read through carefully and reflected upon. Potato.

    The strongest image is “Burn my ashes in my mouth” because it engages 2 out of our 5 senses. Strong visual. And there is not a reader who will read this who will not imagine the not so pleasant “taste” of ash upon their tongue.

    You, thus, connect twice with your reader with this line….so it brings a special emphasis to it and will most likely be the image people most vividly remember sometime after reading poem.

    You navigate and guide the reader to show them or ask can they see the ghost? You stop just short of revealing…out side the light house door?…leaving the reader to wonder, speculate, but not fully understand the ghost. It leaves them guessing. Wanting to know.

    It’s a strong piece.

    I’ll send you some separate private comments on poetry analysis.

    Forrest

    I write like an editor, because I used to be an editor.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Oh great!You have given a detailed anaylsis of my work which is truly flattering.I somehow adore the word game as you said I want to keep it upto the readers to unravel the mysetry it holds.
      I am more than pleased to know you loved my word imagery and could resonate with it in true sense, Forrest!

      This is overwhelming to have a beautiful feedback from a great editor I must.
      Thankyou.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. You are intensely creative in the fact that what you’ve described with the picture its raw and incredibly writing poetic work.

    Your imagery of wordage is dark and I love that about writers. You are talented as hell and I’m really glad we are following each other’s work. Brilliant poetry as always. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Beautifully written. Fabulous choice of words. The words painted a picture but the very next moment sprayed it again with some contradictions. The dark goldfish was beautiful and haunting at the same time. I suppose the inner ghosts don’t let us sit idle, there is an urge to peel off the surface to find what is inside, but the more we dig the more overly sprayed paintings we find inside.
    Glad that I found this post.
    Mesmerizing and haunting 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

